The Corinthian Love Challenge

bottles from underground

I started today’s post last week. Or at least what I thought was today’s post. As always, the subject evolved. It kept getting to me deeper, and more of me went into what I was writing. And today, it came down to the fact that I’m just not ready to finish it. The Lord needs to do more work in me before I can effectively say what needs to be said.

But I will say this:

Don’t let others establish your value or your values.

Our Heavenly Father really does know best.

I’ll also share an area in which I was convicted today, and challenge you – and me.

As I was thinking about what I wasn’t going to post today, I started thinking about unconditional love – how I have and haven’t seen, felt, expressed it…

And I realized how impatience shuts. me. down.

I was kind of surprised when I thought about it. Why is it so difficult for me to speak, act, whatever, when someone expresses annoyance with me?

But then I thought about what annoyance is…

We get annoyed when our expectations aren’t met.

A Better View

OOOHHHHH!! I get it

And then… I… got it…

How often am I impatient with my children? How often do I make them feel like they’re failing to live up to my expectations?

UUUUGGGGHHHH…

Then the Holy Spirit nudged me with1 Corinthians 13…

Challenge #1 – Verses 4-8a are used far more often than they are heard and applied, so I challenge you to take some time to really read them, and consider how your love measures up…

Love is patient, love is kind and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant, does not act unbecomingly; it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered, does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth; 7 bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

Love never fails…

Ouch…

Challenge #2 – Prayerfully consider how you love those around you. Choose one of the attributes of love and come up with one step you can take to love someone like that. Not just something like, “I’ll be more patient with my kids,” but something practical and measurable, like, hmmmm… “I’ll count to three before speaking to my children when I am angry.”

…I can see that resulting in less yelling here… which is a big, embarrassing area of failure for me…

I haven’t had a chance to really sit with the passage and wait for God to reveal what I should commit to, but I promise to make the time…

And in writing this, I’m thinking something along the lines of my example is in my future…

If you decide to join me in this, um, Corinthian love challenge, feel free to share what the Lord lays on your heart.

Blessings!

11/7/13 For more on 1 Corinthians 13, click the links below:

Love is patient

Love is kind

Love is not jealous

Love does not brag

Love is not arrogant

Love does not act unbecomingly

10 thoughts on “The Corinthian Love Challenge

Something to say?

